It’s the REEL Deal- “Eddie the Eagle Flew By and Gave Me a Free Screening”

Eddie 2.JPG
I feel that I should mention, dear reader, that I love to go to the movies. A lot. Which is probably obvious due to my insistence on creating an entire website dedicated to my “Passion”. Now you may be asking yourself “How does this guy find the time and the money to see these movies? They’re like $17 for a student ticket!” Short answer: I am a professional bargain bin hunter. Long answer: Keep reading.

At my local theatre, Event Cinemas in Marion, South Australia, they offer a service known as Cinebuzz. This is a classic “Buy X Products and get Y Free” marketing tactic as it inspires patrons to come back for more so they can take advantage of different discounts and eventually build up to that glorious free ticket to see such classic movies as Smurfs- The Lost Village, the Diary of a Wimpy Kid reboot, or my most anticipated film of the year, The Emoji Movie… Seriously…

It was suggested to me to get involved in this service as I already am a constant visitor to the movies, and I figured why not, it’s a pretty viable option and I can spend less money! So, on the 2nd of August, 2015 (I know this by looking up my records btw), I activated my account, got a card to flash at whoever is behind the counter and went on my merry way.

Now, dear reader, feel free to be slightly judgemental of the following piece of information I will reveal to you because trust me, I’m right there with you. I consistently saw SIXTEEN movies at my local theatre before a very magical day happened that left a constant reminder in my wallet (Aside from the lack of money) on how much I go to the movies.

On the fateful day of the 23rd of March, 2016, I received a letter with a slick black card stating that my Cinebuzz membership had been upgraded to VIP, meaning that I could refill popcorn for free (Which I’ve never taken advantage of as I don’t eat popcorn) and invites for VIP exclusive screenings (More on that later). To top it off, I also got an invitation emailed to me for an EXCLUSIVE VIP FREE SCREENING to the highly anticipated Eddie the Eagle. My dad and I shrugged it off with a “Why not, who cares, it’s free” type of attitude.

Now, to reiterate, I was kind of looking forward to seeing this flick as it starred Hugh Jackman and Taron Eagerton, who was amazing in Kingsman: The Secret Service, and it sounded like it would be a light and fluffy time. One of the biggest reasons why I love the movies is its use of escapism. For a brief moment in time, all your worries and troubles just vanish as you’re sucked into an entirely different world.

I remember especially that on the day we went to go see the movie, I had just experienced my first Physics test, which, to say the least, was bloody brutal. So, in a moment in time like that, seeing a feel good movie like Eddie, as well as the fact that I kind of won this as a free screening, was exactly what I needed at that time because it seemed safer, less expensive and illegal to start heavy drinking.

So, dear reader, I guess the moral of this little story is to always be open minded about opportunities because you’ll never know where they take you… I guess?

 

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

